Science contestants deserving of honors

Congratulations to the Cedar Falls High School FIRST Robotics Team that competed in Minneapolis 10,000 Lakes Regional this weekend. After eight qualifying matches, the team came out ranked second in the competition. The top seeded team joined the Swart Dogs during the elimination rounds. The Swart Dogs won the competition along with their partners Team 2052, Night Crawlers, from New Brighton, Minn., and Team 3244, Granite City Gear Heads, from St. Cloud, Minn. They fought hard for this first place victory.

View Slideshow:
[EasyGallery id=’4.2.robotics’]

The team also submitted essays and award submissions for review. Two students at each regional compeition are eligible for the Dean’s List award. Junior Jared Faylor was presented this award, which was the first time a Cedar Falls student has won it. He now is eligible for the national Dean’s Award during the championships that will take place during the end of April. Ten students will be selected out of the 120 eligible.

Three students from the Swart Dogs team met with judges for interviews and were awarded the Chairman Award. Junior Srinivas Dhanwada, and sophomores Lauren Harter and Charlotte Brandenburg presented why  their team was the best model for what FIRST robotics stands for. This was also the first time Cedar Falls won this award. The robotics team also brought home the Safety Award.

The high school physics competition at the University of Northern Iowa last week also had stellar results for the CFHS participants. Teams were formed of six groups, one participating in each event. The CFHS teams won first, second and third place. The first place team will move on to the state competition. First place individual wins include senior Maddie Mix’s toothpick bridge and juniors Dhanwada and Katie Yang’s mousetrap car.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.