Nominations taken for GoldStar award

Meg Lane/Staff Writer

They build the foundation of our education, and now, the R.J McElroy Trust and KWWL Television are rewarding those Black Hawk County teachers with the GoldStar teacher award.

The award not only gives a prestigious honor of outstanding teaching, but it also includes a $1,000 cash award.

The idea behind the award was to promote good teachers and how important they are for the future. Cedar Falls has had muliple recipients, most recently with English teacher Diane Flaherty winning last year.

“I was thrilled and so humbled. I was grateful for the person who took the time to nominate me. I could not have been more surprised when they all walked in my room last year, but it also reminded me that I stand on the shoulders of so many teachers who have inspired me to become better, whether they were my teachers or my peers,” Flaherty said. “Anytime someone notices you are doing a good job, it makes you feel good. I feel lucky to know that, but there are Gold Star teachers all over this distirct who go unsung.”

James B. Waterbury, trustee of the R. J. McElroy Trust, said, “We wish to honor teachers who truly make a difference in the lives of their students, teachers who instill in their students a love of learning.”

Nominations must be in by March 1 to the office, the public library or Teachers who are nominated will be notified by March 24.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.